Home Page www.supracharged.com
This forum is for information on Supra Swaps

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Blow off valves?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.supracharged.com Forum Index -> Performance
View previous topic :: View next topic  
UNBREAKABLEOffline
Total posts: 20
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2005 1:24 pm    Post subject: Blow off valves? Reply with quote

I'm new to the turbo world. I was wondering if these help or hurt you? Which ones are good and which are bad.
JMG4runnerOffline

Total posts: 180
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2005 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

heres my knowledge, but take it with some caution as i'm no turbo expert. hopefully rob or someone else will be able to correct me if i'm mistaken on any details.

for a turbo-charged vehicle you have to have a blow-off valve of some sort to prevent the pressure building up behind the throttle body when you close the butterfly by letting off the throttle which can cause damage to the turbo. Your stock motor will come with one, its connected from just before the 3000 pipe back to the intake before the turbo. Its a small black cylinder with hoses on either end.

it can be clearly seen here, its the only hose coming off the tube before the throttle body and after the turbo, and you can see it connects back to the intake before the turbo. he substituted a custom pipe for the 3000 pipe.

http://www.webpages.uidaho.edu/~simm8647/Images/IntakePiping1.JPG

I've never understood where the nipple at the top of the BOV is supposed to connect, i have it setup just as shown in that picture and mine seems to work ok, i dont know where the vaccum line terminates at the end opposite the BOV, doesnt appear to be going to the intake mainfold Question