Home Page www.supracharged.com
This forum is for information on Supra Swaps
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

v6 speedometer signal & tach question

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.supracharged.com Forum Index -> Electrical
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
coraxOffline
Joined: 27 May 2005
Total posts: 33
Location: eastern PA
Gender: Male
PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 12:34 pm    Post subject: v6 speedometer signal & tach question Reply with quote

*from what I understand & have read, the 4 cyl cluster speedo signal isn't really recognized by the 7m ECU. right? so the solution is to swap in a v6 cluster. my truck is an '88 & i'm having a helluva time trying to find a v6 cluster. does it matter what year v-6 cluster? i've found a '90 something 4runner v-6 in the local yard & I feel no qualms about tearing the instrument cluster apart to get to the speedo sensor & seeing if I can get it to adapt in my cluster.
*the tach . . . i have an 4 cyl SR5 cluster. I know there is a way on the v-6 cluster to get it to read correctly (potentiometer). Does this only work with the v-6 clusters? I've only read about it in relation to v-6 clusters.
Back to top
View user's profile 
coraxOffline
Joined: 27 May 2005
Total posts: 33
Location: eastern PA
Gender: Male
PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh yeah, in case i'm being vague, I had a 22re & now have a 7mge
Back to top
View user's profile 
AdamOffline
Joined: 15 Nov 2005
Total posts: 42
Location: Vancouver, BC
Age: 45
Gender: Male
PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I couldn't find a V6 truck gauge cluster and the 4runner one doesn't fit in the truck so I ended up gutting both and making a hybrid tach that works perfectly in my 22re truck cluster. After throwing away the rest of the V6 4runner cluster I learned that there may be issues with the speedo sensor. Oops.

Does anyone know WHAT the issue is? Or what the ECU actually does with the information it is supposed to be getting from the speed sensor?
Back to top
View user's profile 
SuperRunnerOffline
Site Admin
Joined: 21 May 2004
Total posts: 942
Location: Orem, Utah
Age: 43
Gender: Male
PostPosted: Sun Aug 27, 2006 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The speed sensor you need is the one that comes from the instrument cluster. Even ealier non-efi 22R's have a speed sensor in the cluster that was used for emissions.
_________________
Supra Swapper and Owner of this site
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website 
coraxOffline
Joined: 27 May 2005
Total posts: 33
Location: eastern PA
Gender: Male
PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 5:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

* this weekend I took my cluster apart & adjusted the little "pot" that was already built into the tach board (turned it ~ 1/8 turn CCW). I got it to read correct @ idle, then took it out on the road w/ my DVOM tach connected . . . it read correct @ 3,000 rpm & @ idle. I can't see that it'll be that far off at higher RPM, and seems mush easier than finding a V6 cluster.
Back to top
View user's profile 
SuperRunnerOffline
Site Admin
Joined: 21 May 2004
Total posts: 942
Location: Orem, Utah
Age: 43
Gender: Male
PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 11:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh, I thought you were talking about the speed sensor, not the tach.
_________________
Supra Swapper and Owner of this site
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website 
AdamOffline
Joined: 15 Nov 2005
Total posts: 42
Location: Vancouver, BC
Age: 45
Gender: Male
PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 11:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

He did mention both. What I'm wondering about is exactly HOW the ECU uses information from the speed sensor. Am I going to see any difference if I switch from the 22RE speed sensor to the V6 one?
Back to top
View user's profile 
SuperRunnerOffline
Site Admin
Joined: 21 May 2004
Total posts: 942
Location: Orem, Utah
Age: 43
Gender: Male
PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 12:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you will notice increased gas mileage and/or/possibly increased power.
_________________
Supra Swapper and Owner of this site
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.supracharged.com Forum Index -> Electrical All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group